What a Free AI Song Generator's Free Tier Actually Includes (2026)
How to read the free tier of an AI song generator: the allowance unit, card rules, commercial limits, track length and export formats, with examples from tools checked on 2026-10-16.
Short answer: A free tier is the recurring allowance a vendor lists at no cost on its pricing page. It has four parts you should read separately: the unit it is counted in, whether the page says a card is needed, what the free output may be used for, and what the paid plans add. Everything below uses fields that official pages showed on 2026-10-16.
Why the free tier is not one number
A free AI song tool rarely says “you get X songs.” It counts something else. One vendor counts credits per day, another counts tracks per month, and a third counts downloads. Each unit answers a different question. A credit count tells you how much work you can start. A download count tells you how much you can keep. A track count tells you how many generations sit in your account before you choose.
Take the tools in our register. Suno’s free plan gives 50 credits a day, and its page does not convert that into songs. Stable Audio gives 50 credits a month. AIVA gives three downloads a month, with single tracks up to three minutes. Mubert gives 25 tracks a month and five downloads. ElevenLabs Music gives 10,000 credits a month, which its own page converts to about 11 minutes of music. Udio’s allowance is 10 credits a day plus a monthly pool of 100, and its page states three full-length songs a day, a song count that none of the other checked pages gives.
The table sets the free-plan fields side by side in one set of terms. Udio is included for its allowance only, because its commercial terms could not be read.
| Tool (checked 2026-10-16) | Free unit | Card rule on the page | Free-plan rights | Longest track stated | Formats on the free plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suno (pricing) | 50 credits per day | Not stated | Personal, non-commercial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Stable Audio (pricing) | 50 credits per month | Not stated | Personal, non-commercial use | Up to 6 min (Solo) | Not stated |
| AIVA (pricing) | 3 downloads per month | “No credit card required” | No monetization; credit required | 3 min (free); 5 min 30 s (Pro) | MP3 and MIDI |
| Mubert (pricing) | 25 tracks and 5 downloads per month | Not stated | Non-commercial | Fixed length (free); 25 min (Creator) | MP3 |
| ElevenLabs Music (pricing) | 10,000 credits per month (about 11 min) | Not stated | Personal use only | Not stated | Not confirmed |
| Udio (pricing) | 10 credits per day, 100 per month; 3 full-length songs a day | “No credit card required” | Not verified | 2:10 (free) | Not stated |
The practical lesson is simple. Before you compare two free plans, write each one in the same terms: how many finished tracks you can keep in a month. If a vendor does not publish that conversion, say so in your notes rather than estimating.
Card rules
A card rule tells you whether the free plan can be tried without giving payment details. Some pricing pages state it plainly. Udio’s page says no credit card is required, and so do AIVA’s and Google Flow Music’s on the pages we checked. Other pages say nothing either way. Suno, Mubert, Stable Audio and ElevenLabs Music did not state a card rule on the pages we read.
Silence is not a yes. A page that does not mention a card has not promised that none is needed. If the card rule matters to you, check the sign-up step itself before you rely on the free plan, and note when you looked. This desk gives the card rule its top value only when the pricing page states it.
Commercial limits on the free plan
This is the field most readers get wrong. A free plan can allow downloads and still forbid commercial use. In the checked pages, Suno’s free terms limit output to personal, non-commercial use. AIVA’s free plan has no monetization and asks for credit. Mubert’s free tier is labelled non-commercial. Stable Audio’s free plan is for personal, non-commercial use. ElevenLabs lists its free music plan as personal use only.
So the free plan is a test and practice space in every case we checked. Commercial rights appear on paid tiers, and they come with conditions. Suno ties commercial use to the download allowance on each paid tier. ElevenLabs keeps film, TV and game projects outside its self-serve commercial grant. Mubert’s pages say tracks may not be published on streaming platforms or registered in Content ID systems, and the same page labels its Pro and Business tiers for commercial usage. That conflict is flagged for a manual re-check of the licence wording. Read the paid terms before you read the free-tier marketing.
Track length
Track length is the field most often left out. Mubert’s pricing page gives up to 25 minutes on the Creator tier. Stable Audio states up to six minutes on its Solo tier. AIVA states 3 minutes on its free plan and 5 minutes 30 seconds on Pro. Udio states that its free full-length songs run to 2:10. Suno’s pricing page does not state a maximum generation length, and ElevenLabs Music’s page does not state a per-track maximum.
A missing length is not a short length. If a tool does not publish a maximum, assume you cannot rely on a particular track length without testing it. This desk scores an unpublished maximum as zero.
Export formats
A free plan often delivers a compressed file, and a paid plan delivers a lossless one. In our register, AIVA’s free and Standard plans deliver MP3 and MIDI, and its Pro plan adds WAV. Mubert’s free plan delivers MP3, and WAV starts at its Creator tier. Soundraw’s Creator plan lists MP3, and its Pro and Unlimited plans list WAV and stems. ElevenLabs names WAV and MP3, but its page does not confirm which plan includes WAV, so this desk does not give that tool a format score.
Check the format next to the plan name, not in a general list. A format on the page is not a format on your plan.
What to do with the answer
Once you have the four parts for each tool, put them side by side in one table. Use the same units, the same dates and the same wording. A tool that states every field is easier to compare than one that states two and leaves the rest unclear, and an unclear field should be read as unknown.
The register on this site uses that method. It gives the top free-tier value only to a plan whose quota is stated in a usable unit and whose page says no credit card is needed, and it gives zero to anything the page does not show. The result is not a verdict on how the music sounds. It is a reading of what the free plan lets you do, and what you would have to pay to do more.
Evidence and method
Every fact in this guide comes from a vendor’s own pricing or terms page, read on 2026-10-16. The guide does not use user reviews, listening tests or third-party scores. Limits: pages change, first-month promotions are excluded, and where a vendor’s page did not show a field, that field is described as not stated. Changes on a vendor page reach this guide as dated edits.
FAQ
Is a free trial the same as a free tier?
No. A free tier is a recurring allowance listed on the vendor's own pricing page. A free trial or a promotional credit is a one-off offer, and it can end without notice. This desk scores only the recurring allowance.
Does a free plan let me sell the songs I make?
In every ranked tool that has a free plan, the checked page limits that plan to personal or non-commercial use, or says nothing about commercial rights. Paid tiers are where commercial use is stated, and the conditions differ by vendor.
Why does the allowance unit matter?
A daily count of credits, a monthly count of tracks, a number of downloads and a number of minutes are four different limits. Comparing them without converting them to what you can actually keep leads to the wrong choice.